Is swimming good for toning you core?

Discussion in Sports & Fitness started by 003 • May 6, 2014.

1. 003

003Well-Known Member

Threads:
    I am not doing anything at all other than swimming and running. I have been running for like 4 years and didn't notice any significant development on my core. Three months ago I went back to swimming and just this recent I saw some development on my cores. They are on their way in getting into shapes.

My cousin who is a swimmer told me the when she was training, every after it her core really aches and stiffens. so I am guessing that it's the swimming responsible for the shapes on my core.

2. CrystalMarie

CrystalMarieActive Member

Threads:
    I also get aches in my core after I swim for long periods. I am not a "swimmer" but I do swim at my pool in the summers. I usually see my core start to tighten around the season that allow me to go swimming. It seems as thought this type of exercise would allow you to tone you mid sections because that is an area that you are working when you are in the water.

3. Jessi

Jessi<a href="http://www.quirkycookery.com">QuirkyCooke

Threads:
    Swimming is amazing for your core! As you noticed, you can feel afterward all of those muscles having been worked out.

The best part for me personally is that it doesn't really feel like a workout at the time. Sure, I might run out of breath or notice that I've been doing it for a while, but I can last a lot longer in the water than I can during activities like running.

4. deathbyprayer

deathbyprayerActive Member

Threads: