How To Save On Auto Insurance

Discussion in Auto Insurance started by PunkinPie • Mar 20, 2015.

1. PunkinPie

PunkinPieMember

Threads:
    As an insurance agent I get asked all the time by people "Can't you get me cheaper rate?" "How can I find a lower price?" "Who has the cheapest price?". The problem with all these questions is each person's situation is different. Insurance pricing is based on a few different factors, a few examples are:

Credit:
    Yes, the better the credit you have the better rate you will get. Insurance companies weigh this heavily as statistics show that the lower the credit score a person has the more likely they are to file large or frequent insurance claims
    Age: If you are 18 years old you are going to pay more than your 45 year old parents. The younger you are the less experience you have.
    Driving Record: Those with tickets and accidents will have a higher rate for obvious reasons. If you want to avoid any surcharges then slow down and pay attention. A simple speeding ticket will haunt you for 3 years while an accident no matter how minor will follow you for 5 years.
    Type of Vehicle: A newer vehicle will cost you more especially if you carry full coverage insurance. Full coverage a.k.a collision and comprehensive coverage will pay for the vehicle in case of an accident, theft, flood, etc. The more the car is worth the higher the premium for that vehicle.

While there is not coupon for insurance purposes or a magical company that is offering bargain basement prices on insurance a few tips I like to tell people are:

Use an INDEPENDENT agent you can trust
    : Independent agents are not tied to one company in particular. They shop multiple carriers for you so you don't have to. They give you the lowest rate they can instead of just one option Also if your rate goes up for no particular reason in the future they can requote your policy for you. A good relationship with an insurance agent in invaluable.