Can you be fit without doing exercise?

Discussion in Sports & Fitness started by 003 • Apr 25, 2014.

1. 003

003Well-Known Member

Threads:
    I am curious if one can really be fit by just on his diet and doing no exercise. I'm not an expert, but I highly doubt it. I mean our bodies are made to move, so I think that we should make the most of it. Also, exercises are beneficial. They aid in chemical production inside our body to lift our mood and to counteract the imminent disease we are probable to incur by our diet and genetics.

2. Denis Hard

Denis HardWell-Known Member

Threads:
    It would depend on the kind of work you do during the day. If you sit around in the office all day long and gorge yourself on meals that will ensure you stay fit, you'll be deceiving yourself.

For someone who does work that involves exertion of sorts, even if that person doesn't exercise he'll still be fit because he regularly burns calories/fat.

3. Hedonologist

HedonologistActive Member

Threads:
    If you have an occupation that requires a lot of physical activity then yes you can be fit without exercise. Also if you have stopped exercising, it will take a long time to lose this fitness, and the fitter you were the longer it will take to lose. Also, some people just naturally have high metabolism making it a lot easier for them to change from coach potato to a fit individual in a very short amount of time.

4. clairebeautiful

clairebeautifulActive Member

Threads:
    To me it depends on your definition of "fit."

Genetically, some people can look really fit and healthy without doing much of anything. I am one of those people. I am naturally tall and thin and I actually seem to have pretty decent looking muscles (for a woman) but I really don't do much to look like this. (People constantly ask me what I do to tone my arms, and I'm like, "Tone...?")